Who we are

Kericho County has a population of over one million, six constituencies namely Kipkelion East Constituency, Kipkelion West Constituency, Ainamoi Constituency, Bureti Constituency, Belgut Constituency, and Sigowet –Soin Constituency which are also referred to us sub-Counties in the County administration.

The county has 30 wards all represented by various Members of County Assemblies in the County Assembly. It borders the following counties; Nandi to the North, Uasin Gishu and Baringo to the North East, Nakuru to the East and South East, Bomet to the South, Nyamira and Homa-Bay to the South West, and Kisumu County to the West and North West. Kericho Town is the administrative capital of the county. Other Towns include Litein, Londiani.

The Mau Forest in Kericho County is the biggest water catchment area in Kenya. At a high altitude and virtually daily rains, Kericho is the centre of Kenya’s largest tea industry. Some of the biggest tea companies including Unilever Kenya, James Finlay and Williamson Tea are based here. It is also home to the popular Ketepa brand. Much of the tea is exported, with the UK being the largest market.

The Kericho County, in execution of responsibilities and functions bestowed upon it by the Constitution has been divided into the following arms as follows:

  • The Legislative Arm or the County Assembly headed by the Speaker
  • The Executive Arm led by the Governor
  • The Kericho County Assembly (KCCA):

The Speaker is the head of the legislature and presides over the plenary sittings of the County Assembly.  The legislative arm of the County is responsible for legislation, oversight and representation. The legislature comprises of elected and nominated Members of the County Assembly who perform their legislative, oversight and representation function through the organs of the County Assembly namely the plenary and the various committees of the Assembly.

The Kericho County Executive Committee:

This is the Executive arm of the County Government led by the Governor, the Deputy Governor and Members of the County Executive Committee. Broadly, the County Executive Committee consists of the County Public Service Board and the County Executive Committee. The County Executive Committee, appointed by the governor with the approval of the County Assembly, comprises ten members and is the highest policy making organ of the county. Each member of the County Executive Committee is responsible for operations of the respective sector within the County.